The Canada Employment Immigration Union (CEIU) represents the vast majority of workers at Service Canada, Human Resources and Social Development (HRSD), Citizenship and Immigration Canada (CIC) and the Immigration and Refugee Board (IRB).

The CEIU came into existence in November 1977 following a referendum vote on the merger of two unions, the Economic Security Employees National Association (ESENA) which represented most of the Unemployment Insurance Commission workforce, and the Manpower and Immigration Union (MIU) which represented Manpower and Immigration staffs.

Component of the PSAC

The CEIU is a component union of the Public Service Alliance of Canada (PSAC).

The PSAC is the bargaining agent which, in concert with the CEIU and other component unions, negotiates with the Treasury Board for service-wide bargaining units such as the Program and Administrative Services (PA) group.

Are You a New Member?

Check out the New Members page for more information!

Our Executive

As of September 21, 2021 our executive is as follows:

President – Brenda Parsons
Chief Shop Steward – Shauna Tobin
VP Topsail Road – Jessica Power
VP Pleasantville  – Jeff Sanborn
VP Mews  – Darlene Jenkins
VP Placentia – Jessica Power
VP Hebron Way – Jeff Sanborn

VP IRCC – Darlene Jenkins
Treasurer – Noelle French
Secretary – Wanda Noble
Communications Officer – Vacant

Questions, comments, concerns? Email us at!